top of page

Cancun Getaway

Cancun is a beautiful place. It is no doubt an epic summer getaway. Here are some tips and things I did while I was there.

 

Cancun

My time in Mexico was full of sun fun and a few unexpected things too. All in all my birthday in Cancun was amazing and although I wasn't there as long as I had wanted to be, I'm still super grateful for the experience. We stayed at the Flamingo Hotel in Cancun it was all-inclusive but honestly, it's more family-friendly than couples friendly.


The Strip of fun as I like to call its located in Punta Cancun. It's where you can find Coco Bongo's, tons of other bars, restaurants, and shops. This place comes alive in the nighttime, so if you can definitely take a walk around!

 

Tulum

Birthday Shenanigans. First, we had a large van pick us up and stay with us all day in Tulum. the place is so amazing I took tons of pics and had soo much fun. The picture above was taken at the newest art installation on the side of the road about 5 mins from DT Tulum


I do have to warn you DO NOT USE ICE. The day after my bday I got extremely sick (Better known as Montezumas Revenge) and I had no idea that anything with ice is a huge no-no. All my mixed drinks had ice, I thought as a bar or any type of establishment the ice would be clean well guess again. In the states, chlorine is used to make the water drinkable & they do not do that here, it's okay for the locals to drink tho.






Tulum has amazing hotels with wood installations everywhere. Getting around by bike is super cheap. The only thing you have to consider when going to Tulum is it's a 2 hr drive to the nearest airport. (Cancun)




Photo taken at Ahau Tulum











Tulum was nonetheless amazing and highly recommend you go to Azulik. Make sure to get the full experience! I really didn't get but if I go back I know that Tulum will be my one-stop-shop.




Photo taken at Azulik




 

Chichen Itza

As I explain before getting sick from the ice really impacted me the next day I was feeling very weak and had to be up at 5 am to get ready and honestly if I wouldn't have already paid for the excursion I would have just stayed in bed.


The tour from Amigos tours picked us up at the hotel with transportation to the Chichen Itza located in Yucatan is quite a bit of a journey from Cancun. We got the full experience got to see the locals and it included lunch. My only problem was since I had gotten sick I was scared to eat anything that didn't come out of a vending machine.








Arriving at the historical site was of course hot we went in early July and there were hundreds of vendors selling all types of different souvenirs.


We already got ours at the local spot near the hotel so we stayed away. The sites were incredible and crossing off one of my bucket list was amazing.







 

Cenotes

A water hole or cenotes as the Mexicans call it. Is a must-do when you are in Mexico. We went to a sacred Mayan Cenote located in Yucatan.



The Cenote was so beautiful. You can jump right in with a life vest. (Since the water is so deep)


The natural waterfall is such a soothing sound and the water is cold but on a hot summer day, this is a MUST!


The trip to the cenote was included in our trip to the Chichen Itza. It was such an adventure and there are tons more cenotes all over Mexico. Find the nearest one to you, it's by far way better than a pool or beach.




 

Thank you for viewing my blog stay tuned there is so much more to come. As always stay blessed travelholics!

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page